

CITY OF NORTH RICHLAND HILLS Youth Advisory committee 4301 City Point Drive North Richland Hills, TX 76180 Wednesday, September 13, 2017

## Members Present

Luis Carrillo Shelby Thomason Cynthia Cruz Emily Wallace Sydney Thomason Gabby Whitton Jody Clark Randy Rangel Johnathan Garner Naia Watkins-Garner Madeline Riscky Ben Taylor

## **Others Present**

Kat Mills Cami Henyan Jillian Oujesky Callee Lewis

## Staff Members & Guests

Kristin James, Assistant to the City Manager

- 1. Call The Meeting To Order Meeting was called to order by Secretary, Luis Carrillo 6:02 pm.
- Introductions
   Ms. Kristin James started by introducing herself and then asked everyone to tell their name, grade, school and one interesting fact about themselves to break the ice.
- 3. Overview of the Youth Advisory Committee activities and requirements for the 2017/2018 Academic Year Kristin James, Staff Liaison Ms. James presented information regarding what activities the committee would be participating in this year, in addition to the requirements expected. She talked about attendance requirements, as well as the requirement to attend at least one City Council Meeting. She also presented all the opportunities coming up in the fall that need volunteer help.
- 4. Presentation from Hope Squad regarding the organization, its mission and how to be involved Kristin James, Staff Liaison Ms. James introduced the new committee members to Hope Squad. The committee learned what the organization is, their goal and how YAC might be able to help implement it in their own schools.
- 5. Overview of the City of North Richland Hills Kristin James, Staff Liaison
  - History of NRH
  - NRH Form of Government

Ms. James presented information regarding the history of North Richland Hills, in addition to demographics and the form of government.

- Nomination and Selection of 2017/2018 Youth Advisory Committee Officers The Committee voted on their next committee chairs. The following were the results:
  - Luis Carrillo Chair
  - Naia Garner Vice Chair
  - Jaloni Garner Secretary
  - Ben Taylor Treasurer
- 7. Adjournment The meeting was adjourned at 7:06 pm.

APPROVED:

Luis Carrillo, Chair