

CITY COUNCIL MEMORANDUM

FROM: The Office of the City Manager **DATE:** June 27, 2022

- **SUBJECT:** Approve Resolution No. 2022-028, appointing members to various boards, commissions and committees.
- **PRESENTER:** Alicia Richardson, City Secretary

SUMMARY:

Each year, the City Council appoints members of the public to serve on various boards, commissions, and committees (the "Boards"). Appointed members serve a two-year term, unless appointed to fulfill an unexpired term. These annual appointments coincide with City Council terms—Places 1, 3, 5, and 7 are appointed in odd-numbered years and Places 2, 4, 6, and Mayoral appointments in even-numbered years. Each member serves until their successor has been duly appointed and qualified.

GENERAL DESCRIPTION:

In preparation for the annual appointments, staff provides City Council with resource material to assist with the appointment process. City Council was provided with a listing of their current appointees, attendance report and current applications on file.

In accordance with city charter, state law and city ordinances, Council members nominate a member of the public to serve in the corresponding place on the Board. The submitted nominations are subject to majority approval of City Council.

There are a number of Boards with unique membership requirements. These Boards include the Capital Improvement Advisory Committee, Civil Service Commission, Construction Code of Appeals Board, Gas Board of Appeals, and Youth Advisory Committee.

Mayor Trevino and Council members Wright Oujesky and Orr have submitted the below nominees for consideration by City Council. In addition to the names provided below, City Council may present nominees at the meeting. The listing includes recommendations by city staff for the Construction Code Board of Appeals and Economic Development Advisory Committee and Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Deupree to fulfill the vacancy created by Jennifer Childs resignation from the Parks and Recreation Board. Associate Mayor Pro Tem Turnage's nominations will be considered at a future meeting.



KEEP NORTH RICHLAND HILLS BEAUTIFUL COMMISSION

Kathleen Kaiser	Place 4	June 30, 2024
Steve Chaney	Alternate	June 30, 2024
LIBRARY BOARD		
Pam Donahoo	Place 2	June 30, 2024
Holly Mitchell	Place 4	June 30, 2024
Margaret Nilz	Alternate	June 30, 2024

PARK AND RECREATION BOARD

Kate Beck	Place 2	June 30, 2024
Vanessa Copeland	Place 4	June 30, 2024
Russ Murdock (fulfill vacancy)	Place 7	June 30, 2023
Sammy Robison	Alternate	June 30, 2024

PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION AND CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Jay Riscky	Place 2	June 30, 2024
Gregory Stamps	Place 4	June 30, 2024
Jared Ross	Ex-Officio	June 30, 2024

SUBSTANDARD BUILDING BOARD

Bill Wait	Place 2	June 30, 2024
Michael Gist	Place 4	June 30, 2024

TEEN COURT ADVISORY BOARD

Janet Golightly	Place 2	June 30, 2024
Mandi Sullins	Place 4	June 30, 2024

ZONING BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT

Place 4	June 30, 2024
	Place 4



The following Boards have unique membership requirements. As such, they do not coincide with City Council places.

CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT PROJECTS COMMITTEE

Pursuant to the Council Rules of Procedure, the Mayor appoints members to City Council committees, subject to approval of the Council. Mayor Trevino recommends the following for appointment.

Mason Orr	Member	June 30, 2024
Suzy Compton	Member	June 30, 2024
Kelvin Deupree	Member	June 30, 2024
Oscar Trevino	Alternate	June 30, 2024

CONSTRUCTION CODE BOARD OF APPEALS

Section 98-42 of the North Richland Hills Code of Ordinances states that appointments are recommended by City Staff and appointed by City Council. To follow are recommendations forwarded by staff.

Kurt Cameron	Place 2	June 30, 2024
Marc Trevino	Place 4	June 30, 2024
Heath Kirkwood	Place 6	June 30, 2024

CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION

City Charter, Article XVII establishes the membership of the Civil Service Commission. Members are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by a two-thirds (2/3) vote of the City Council.

Positions 2 and 4 shall be appointed from a list or lists of nominees provided to the Mayor by employee associations. The terms for the commission are as follows: Positions 1 and 2, one year term; Positions 3 and 4; two-year term; and Position 5, three-year term. The position of ex-officio is a two-year term.

Mayor Trevino recommends the following for appointment.

September Daniel	Position 2 - Fire Association	June 30, 2023
Marvin Smith	Position 4 - Police Association	June 30, 2024
Richard Roby	Ex-Officio	June 30, 2023



ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

In 1998, City Council created the Economic Development Advisory Committee to provide business and employee input on policies, plans and strategies that promote quality of life and economic health in the city. Members consist of 10 leaders serving staggered two-year terms representing different spectrums of business.

There are five positions whose terms expire June 30, 2022. In addition, there are three members who are stepping down June 30, 2022 that create vacancies on the committee. Staff recommends City Council appoint the following people.

Darlisa Diltz	Business Development	June 30, 2024
Stefanie Seybert	Manufacturing	June 30, 2024
Jay Redford	Real Estate	June 30, 2024
Mike Vasquez	Entertainment	June 30, 2024
Mark Wood	Real Estate	June 30, 2024
Jay Garrison (fulfill vacancy)	Office/Service	June 30, 2023
Mikhail Orlov (fulfill vacancy)	Retail	June 30, 2023
Joshua Fichter (fulfill vacancy)	New Car Dealership	June 30, 2023

PARK AND RECREATION FACILITIES DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION

The Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws establish the membership for the Board of Directors, which includes the number, term, and classification. Places 1-4 shall be a member of the City Council and Places 5-7 are citizens who are not employees of the City or a member of City Council.

The Articles of Incorporation identify Places 1, 5, and 7 as being appointed in evennumbered years and Places 2, 3, 4 and 6 being appointed in odd-numbered years with a term of two years.

Staff is seeking City Council's direction for appointment to Places 1, 5, and 7 and to fill the vacancy for Place 6.

To follow is the <u>current membership</u> and terms of the Board of Directors with the corresponding expiration of the term.

Oscar Trevino	Place 1	June 30, 2022
Tito Rodriguez	Place 2	June 30, 2023



Scott Turnage	Place 3	June 30, 2023
Rita Wright Oujesky	Place 4	June 30, 2023
Tracye Lewis	Place 5	June 30, 2022
Vacant	Place 6	June 30, 2023
Kate Beck	Place 7	June 30, 2022

RECOMMENDATION: Approve Resolution No. 2022-028, as presented and discussed.