City of North Richland Hills Youth Advisory Committee

2024-2025 End of Year Report

The 2024-2025 Youth Advisory Committee program was composed of 11 students from Birdville High School and Richland High School. YAC is a great opportunity for members to learn about the community and local government, to serve the community through volunteering, and meet new friends and that is exactly what we did this year!

The committee received presentations by many city departments on their roles and responsibilities. These speakers deepened YAC members' understanding of the city they live in and inspired the youth to give back to the community.

The Youth Advisory Committee heard a presentation from Animal Adoption & Rescue Center and pursued a service project of assisting with clearing the shelter. Staff advised that one way the teens could help would be with social media and promoting adoptions. YAC scheduled a time to meet at the shelter to take photos of the animals so they could share them on social media.

The Youth Advisory Committee's main community project this year was helping seniors with technology. YAC members partnered with the NRH Senior Center and created a class that members of the Senior Center could join. The students created a PowerPoint to present and had opportunities for the seniors to break up into small groups with the teens to walk through any questions or concerns the senior had with apps and devices. This was very well received by the Senior Center and YAC has been asked to return again when available.

For the 2025-2026 school year, YAC will have 6 of the 11 members from this year returning. We would like to thank Chair Ally Creecy for her service and wish her well as she begins college in the fall. Officers for the 2025-2026 school year will be Chair Parker Meek, Vice Chair Hunter Creecy, Secretary Kaycee Mitchell, and Treasurer Mason Allison.

2024-2025 Youth Advisory Committee Members

Chair Ally Creecy Treasurer Hunter Creecy Gabe Winans Kaycee Mitchell Vice Chair Clark Iordanescu LaMar Allison Jaxton Harris Avery Zahasky Secretary Parker Meek Mason Allison Penelope Morgan