RESOLUTION NO. 2024-047

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TEXAS, APPOINTING FOUR REPRESENTATIVES TO THE NORTH RICHLAND HILLS TAX REINVESTMENT ZONE NUMBER 3 BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND APPOINTING A CHAIRPERSON.

- WHEREAS, the City Council of the City of North Richland Hills (the "City Council") previously adopted Ordinance No. 3617 creating Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number 3 ("TIF 3"), and
- WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 3617 provides that TIF 3 is to be overseen by a nine (9) member Board of Directors (the "Board"), of which each taxing unit that has approved the payment for all or part of the tax increment produced by the unit into the tax increment fund for TIF 3 has the right to appoint one (1) member each and the City Council has the right to appoint all remaining members; and
- WHEREAS, House Bill 2853, which was passed by the 83nd Texas Legislature and took effect on June 17, 2011, amended Section 311.009 of the Texas Tax Code regarding the appointment of members of the Board of tax increment reinvestment zones and prevails over any conflicting provision of Ordinance No. 2420; and
- WHEREAS, Section 311.009 (c) of the Texas Tax Code provides that Board members shall be appointed for a term of two (2) years unless otherwise indicated; and
- WHEREAS, each member serves until their successor has been duly appointed and qualified; and
- WHEREAS, the City Council has the right, at any time and for any reason, to appoint an individual to the Board to replace any current member appointed by the City Council for the remainder of that person's term; and
- WHEREAS, Section 311.009 (f) of the Texas Tax Code provides that the City Council must appoint one (1) member of the Board to serve as the Board's chairperson for a term of one (1) year beginning January 1 of the year.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TEXAS:

SECTION 1. The City Council hereby removes Oscar Trevino, Rita Wright Oujesky, Scott Turnage, and Mason Orr from the Board and appoints the persons listed below to the Board to serve the remainder of the current unexpired terms beginning October 28, 2024, and expiring as indicated below:

Name	Expiration of Term
Jack McCarty	December 31, 2025
Ricky Rodriguez	December 31, 2025
Matt Blake	December 31, 2025
Russ Mitchell	December 31, 2025

SECTION 2. The City Council hereby appoints the following Board member to serve as the Board's chairperson from October 28, 2024 through December 31, 2024.

Name	Expiration of Chair
Jack McCarty	December 31, 2024

SECTION 3. The City Council hereby appoints the following Board member to serve as the Board's chairperson from January 1, 2025 through December 31, 2025.

Name	Expiration of Chair
Jack McCarty	December 31, 2025

- **SECTION 4.** The City Council hereby reserves the right, at any time and for any reason, to remove a Board member appointed by the City Council and to appoint individuals to the Board to replace any of the City Council-appointed Board members.
- **SECTION 5.** This Resolution shall take effect and be in full force and effect from and after the date of its adoption, and it is so resolved; and all Resolutions of the City Council of the City in conflict herewith are hereby amended or repealed to the extent of such conflict.

PASSED AND APPROVED this the 28th day of October, 2024.

CITY OF NORTH RICHLAND HILLS

Ву:_____

Jack McCarty, Mayor

ATTEST:

Alicia Richardson, City Secretary/Chief Governance Officer

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY:

Bradley A. Anderle, City Attorney

APPROVED AS TO CONTENT:

Jay K. Patel, Director of Finance